Web Analytics

Candidates announced in Totteridge and Bowerdean Division by-election in High Wycombe

| January 14, 2019

A list of candidates standing in the upcoming Totteridge and Bowerdean Division by-election in High Wycombe has been announced.

Polling for the Buckinghamshire County Council seat takes place on Thursday 7th February 2019 and follows the sad passing of Chaudhary Ditta in November 2018.

Candidates at the close of nominations at 4.00pm last Friday 11th January 2019 are listed as:

  • Ben James Holkham (Liberal Democrat)
  • Matt Knight (East Wycombe Independent)
  • Richard David Peters (Conservative)
  • Israr Rashid (Labour)

The candidates will be seeking votes from more than 7,800 electors in the Totteridge and Bowerdean Division. The deadline for residents to register to vote is Tuesday 22nd January 2019 and this can be done online at www.gov.uk/register-to-vote.

Applications for postal votes must be with the electoral registration team at Wycombe District Council – which is overseeing the by-election – by 5.00pm on Wednesday 23rd January 2019 and the deadline for applying for a proxy vote is 5.00pm Wednesday 30th January 2019.

County Returning Officer Sarah Ashmead said it was important to make every elector aware of their right to vote and urged residents to ensure they were registered to vote. Sarah said: ‘Everyone uses the County Council’s services in some way every day, I’d encourage everyone in the Totteridge and Bowerdean Division to exercise their democratic right to choose the person they want to represent them locally, and to help make important decisions about millions of pounds of public services provided right across Buckinghamshire.

Comments are closed.