Web Analytics

New Buckinghamshire Council replaces the County and four District Councils in Buckinghamshire

| April 1, 2020

On Wednesday 1st April 2020 the new Buckinghamshire Council replaced the County and four District Councils in Buckinghamshire.

From today, Wednesday 1st April 2020, Buckinghamshire County Council, Aylesbury Vale District Council, Chiltern District Council, South Bucks District Council and Wycombe District Council cease to exist having been replaced by Buckinghamshire Council.

The new unitary council will take over the provision of all the municipal functions provided by the five organisations that it replaces.

However due to the Coronavirus emergency the local Government elections planned for May 2020 to elect new Councillors to serve on the Buckinghamshire Council have been postponed for a year until Mary 2020. As a result the leadership of the new Buckinghamshire Council will follow guidance from the Government with the following arrangements in place:

  • All 202 current Shadow Authority councillors will become councillors of the new Buckinghamshire Council on Wednesday 1st April 2020 until May 2021.
  • The existing Shadow Executive members will form Buckinghamshire Council’s new Cabinet until the elections take place in May 2021.
  • Buckinghamshire Council’s new constitution (i.e. its operating rules and procedures) will come into force on Wednesday 1st April 2020 and new committees will be established. The Government is due to introduce emergency rules which will allow committees to hold virtual meetings for a temporary period.

Further information on the new Buckinghamshire Council can be found on the Buckinghamshire Council website.

Advertisement (Links to external site) :

Advertisement (Links to external site) :

Comments are closed.