Web Analytics

The Queen honours Buckinghamshire residents

| October 10, 2020

Twenty five Buckinghamshire residents have received birthday honours from HM The Queen.

The announcement of the Queen’s birthday honours made on Saturday 10th October 2020, was delayed from June 2020 as a result of the pandemic.

A number of those receiving honours have been specifically nominated for their work during the pandemic. These men and women have been singled out in recognition of their work to support key services and communities.

Her Majesty’s Lord Lieutenant of Buckinghamshire, Sir Henry Aubrey-Fletcher said: ‘Buckinghamshire is such a rich and diverse county and there are so many unsung heroes doing wonderful things for the good of their community, often without any expectation of reward or recognition and these Honours are a way of thanking these individuals for the fantastic work they are doing.

In these unprecedented times it is good to see a significant number of Covid-19 related awards and I hope there will be more to come in the 2021 New Year’s Honours List which is due out at the end December 2020.

The complete list of Buckinghamshire residents in the Queen’s birthday honours includes:

Member of the Royal Victorian Order (MVO)

  • Mr Joseph Bradshaw – For services to the Buckinghamshire Lieutenancy.

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

  • Lorraine Kelly OBE -Television Presenter. For services to Broadcasting, Journalism and charity.
  • Mrs Anne Main – Lately Member of Parliament for St Albans. For public and parliamentary service.
  • Dr Deborah Morgan – Director, Primary Mathematics, National Centre for Excellence in Teaching Mathematics. For services to Education.

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

  • Professor Ann Walker – Professor, University of Oxford and University College London. For services to Academia and the Covid-19 response.
  • Mr Christopher Watts – Lately Deputy Director, National Security, Department for Transport. For public service.

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

  • Mr Barry Armstrong – Senior Humanitarian Adviser, Department for International Development. For services to Victims of Humanitarian Disaster
  • Miss Neeta Atkar JP – Non-Executive Director, British Business Bank. For services to Small Business Finance.
  • Mr Alistair Cameron – For services to the community in Amersham, Buckinghamshire.
  • Mr Darren Gough – For services to Cricket and charity.
  • Mr John Hayday – Security and Business Continuity Director, BT. For services to the Telecommunications Industry during Covid-19.
  • Mr Nasir Khan – Co-Founder, Muslims in Rail. For services to Muslim Representation in the Rail Industry.
  • Dr Dominque Lucas – Consultant Anaesthetist and Lead for Obstetric Anaesthesia, London North West University Healthcare NHS Trust. For services to Anaesthesia during Covid-19.
  • Mrs Deborah Pargeter – Headteacher, Tithe Farm Primary. For services to Education particularly during Covid-19.
  • Mr Philip Richards – For services to the Economy and charity.
  • Mr Jacob Thundil – Founder, Cocofina. For services to International Trade and Exports.
  • Mrs Elizabeth Youens – For voluntary service to swimming in Wendover, Buckinghamshire.

Medallists of the Order of the British Empire (BEM)

  • Mrs Myra Andrews – For services to Performing Arts and Young People.
  • Ms Helen Bewley – Anatomical Pathology Technician and Mortuary Manager, Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust. For services to Pathology during Covid-19.
  • Mr David Brown – General Duties Co-ordinator, RAF High Wycombe. For services to the Royal Aviation Air Force and to Aviation Heritage.
  • Mrs Margaret Gurney – Services Assistant, J Sainsbury’s plc. For services to the community during Covid-19.
  • Ms Kurshida Mirza – Volunteer Organiser, Great Get Together Iftar and Truby’s Garden Tea Room (Inter Faith Cafe) – For services to Inter Faith and Community Cohesion in Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire.
  • Mrs Farzaneh Saadat – Manager, Cecil Court Residential Home. For services to Older People with Dementia.
  • Mr David Saunders – For services to charity in Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire.
  • Mrs Valerie Williamson – For services to the community in North Buckinghamshire.

The honours system recognises people who have made achievements in public life and committed themselves to serving and helping Britain.

Potential nominees could be involved in charitable or voluntary activity, or be doing innovative work that makes a significant difference in the community. The nomination process is simple using the Government’s nomination website at https://www.gov.uk/honours/nominate-someone-in-the-uk.

Nominations for specific activities relating to Covid-19 are also open with further information available at https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/covid-19-honours-nomination-form.

*Source of article : Press release from Buckinghamshire Council.

Comments are closed.