Web Analytics

Senior political appointments confirmed at Buckinghamshire Council

| May 22, 2022

Senior political appointments have been confirmed by Buckinghamshire Council following its Annual General Meeting.

The AGM was held on Wednesday 18th May 2022 at The Gateway offices in Aylesbury.

Martin Tett continues as Leader of Buckinghamshire Council with his own set of portfolio responsibilities covering financial strategy, economic development, skills and employability, strategic infrastructure, policy and communications and the recovery plan for Buckinghamshire.

Two deputy leaders, Angela Macpherson and Gareth Williams, will continue to provide support in addition to their own cabinet responsibilities.

Taking up the important ceremonial position of Chairman of the Council for the forthcoming year is Dev Dhillon, with Patricia Birchley supporting him as Vice-Chairman of the Council.

Martin Tett also announced his new Cabinet appointments, together with deputy cabinet member positions. The full list is:

Health and Wellbeing Portfolio

  • Angela Macpherson – Cabinet Member and Deputy Leader
  • Zahir Mohammed – Deputy Cabinet Member (Public Health)

Climate Change and Environment Portfolio

  • Gareth Williams – Cabinet Member and Deputy Leader
  • Jilly Jordan – Deputy Cabinet Member (Environment)

Planning and Regeneration Portfolio

  • Peter Strachan – Cabinet Member
  • Rachael Matthews – Deputy Cabinet Member (Town Centre Regeneration)
  • Gary Hall – Deputy Cabinet Member (Enforcement)

Homelessness and Regulatory Services Portfolio

  • Mark Winn – Cabinet Member
  • Carl Jackson – Deputy Cabinet Member (Regulatory Services)

Education and Children’s Services Portfolio

  • Anita Cranmer – Cabinet Member
  • Joe Baum – Deputy Cabinet Member (Skills)

Transport Portfolio

  • Steven Broadbent – Cabinet Member
  • Peter Martin – Deputy Cabinet Member (HS2/EWR)
  • David King – Deputy Cabinet Member (Transport Delivery)

Accessible Housing and Resources Portfolio

  • John Chilver – Cabinet Member
  • Tim Butcher – Deputy Cabinet Member (Resources and HR)

Culture and Leisure Portfolio

  • Clive Harriss – Cabinet Member

Communities Portfolio

  • Steve Bowles – Cabinet Member
  • Arif Hussain – Deputy Cabinet Member (Community Safety)

Speaking after the meeting, Martin Tett, Leader of Buckinghamshire Council, said: ‘We want our county to be a place everyone can be proud of, with excellent services, thriving businesses and outstanding public spaces for everyone.

We want our residents, regardless of background, to have access to great opportunities, living healthy, successful lives and ageing well with independence.

I recognise the year ahead will present many challenges but looking forward, we can build on the firm foundations we have built to improve the services we provide and accelerate the county’s success and prosperity in the future. I know we are all up for this.

*Source of article : Press release from Buckinghamshire Council.

Comments are closed.