Web Analytics

Record number of voluntary groups in Buckinghamshire receive the Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service

| June 7, 2019

A record number of Buckinghamshire voluntary groups in Buckinghamshire have been honoured with the Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service (QAVS).

Ten voluntary organisations from across Buckinghamshire have been honoured with the Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service (QAVS), the highest accolade a voluntary group in the UK can achieve.

2019 marks the highest number of winners in Buckinghamshire since the awards were first introduced in 2002. The winners for 2019 are:

  • Buckinghamshire MIND
  • Bucks and Oxon 4×4 Response Group
  • Chalfont St Giles Youth Club
  • Chiltern Child Contact Centre, Amersham
  • Milton Keynes Museum Volunteers
  • Old Bath House & Community Centre, Wolverton
  • The Princes Centre, Princes Risborough
  • The Stablemates, Wavendon
  • Stoke Poges, Wexham & Fulmer Horticultural Society
  • Wycombe & District Neighbourhood Watch Association (WDNHWA)

The Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service recognises the outstanding work carried out by voluntary groups in their local communities.

The awards were created in 2002 to celebrate the Queen’s Golden Jubilee and winners are announced each year on 2nd June, the anniversary of the Queen’s Coronation.

Representatives from each of the groups will receive their award from Sir Henry Aubrey-Fletcher, Her Majesty’s Lord Lieutenant of Buckinghamshire or Alexander Boswell, Vice Lord Lieutenant, later in the summer.

Sir Henry said: ‘I warmly congratulate all of the inspirational voluntary groups in Buckinghamshire who have been rewarded for their community work with a Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service and we look forward to meeting the volunteers when Alexander Boswell or I present each of the groups with their award.

The list of winners is very diverse and it is pleasing to see the groups stretch across the whole of the county. When I received the full list of 2019 winners I was delighted.

It is the highest number of awards Buckinghamshire has received since they were first introduced in 2002. Buckinghamshire has received the fourth highest total on the list across the whole the UK. Only Greater Manchester, Greater London and the West Midlands have received more awards this year.

The cycle for award nominations for 2020 has now begun. New nominations can be submitted until Friday 13th September 2019 at https://qavs.direct.gov.uk.

Wycombe Today Advertisement

Comments are closed.