Web Analytics

Government gives green light to unitary council for Buckinghamshire

| November 1, 2018

The Government has given the green light to unitary council for Buckinghamshire replacing the current County and four District Councils.

The creation of a Unitary Council for Buckinghamshire would mean that Buckinghamshire County Council, Aylesbury Vale District Council, Chiltern Distinct Council, South Bucks District Council and Wycombe District Council will be replaced by one single Council that will take over the services run by the five current municipal authorities in Buckinghamshire.

If Parliament approves the decision the new council will be established on Wednesday 1st April 2020 with the first elections to the council held on Thursday 7th May 2020.

The announcement, made by Secretary of State James Brokenshire, has been hailed as a ‘truly historic day’ by County Council leader Martin Tett.

The new council, which will replace the County Council and four districts, will be simpler, better value and more local to Buckinghamshire communities than the current two tier system, ultimately moving to a more sustainable future for the county.

Services which complement one another but are currently divided between the district and county councils such as bin collections, waste disposal, planning and roads, would be brought together under the single unitary council, resulting in more efficient, joined-up services for residents.

The Secretary of State said in his statement: ‘Having assessed both proposals against the criteria that we announced to the House on 28 February 2017 (PQ 65271), I have concluded that whilst both proposals meet the criterion for a ‘good deal of local support’, only the proposal for a single unitary council satisfies the criteria for ‘improving local government’ and for ‘being a credible geography’ and that in any event the proposal for a single unitary council is better able to meet the criteria overall.

Accordingly, I am today announcing that I have decided to implement, subject to Parliamentary approval, the locally-led proposal to replace the existing five councils across Buckinghamshire – the two tier structure of Buckinghamshire County Council and the district councils of Aylesbury Vale, Chiltern, South Bucks and Wycombe – by one new single unitary district council, and that I have decided not to implement the proposal for two new unitary councils.

The Secretary of State’s full statement can be read at the following link : https://www.parliament.uk/business/publications/written-questions-answers-statements/written-statement/Commons/2018-11-01/HCWS1058/.

The leader of Buckinghamshire County Council, Martin Tett, said: ‘This is a truly historic day for Buckinghamshire. The announcement paves the way for a brand new council, fit for the future, created by combining the best of both county and district councils. This new council will be simpler, better value and more local to our residents. It will also have more clout to face head-on the great strategic challenges facing the county over the coming decades.

There has been robust debate over the last couple of years over how best to modernise Buckinghamshire’s out-dated two-tier system. Everyone has agreed that a change to a unitary form of governance is the only way forward.

Now a decision has been made it is the time to put the past behind us and work together, to build the better future Buckinghamshire’s residents deserve.

There are a number of issues we will need to agree with Government, and I look forward to giving you further details as these become known over the coming weeks.

Below is a video message by Martin Tett to residents of Buckinghamshire :

Further information on the business case for a single unitary council can be found by visiting www.futurebucks.co.uk.

Comments are closed.